Margaret Sanders Scholarship

2019-20 Application Materials

The application window has now closed and winners will be announced in the coming months. 

Past Recipients

Criteria for Nominees

The scholarships will be awarded to the students who demonstrate character strengths such as persistence and motivation, resourcefulness, as well as acceptance of other cultures and points of view. The nominated students should also display a genuine interest in, and sustained commitment to the welfare of others, as reflected through participation in school activities, and community/civic involvement. Factors considered in the selection process include academic achievement, financial need, and higher education and vocational aspirations that will impact future improvements within local and global communities. Leadership and service contributions that directly address community and societal needs and solutions will be considered in the selection process.


About Margaret

Margaret Sanders' career with Walsworth Publishing Company began in 1961. During her storied forty-year career, Sanders traveled the world assisting schools with the publication of their yearbooks. Sanders developed a very close connection with the overseas 'American/International' schools as well as their diverse and interesting populations. Sanders established this scholarship fund to "give back" to the community that gave her so many exciting opportunities and personal rewards. Further, The Margaret Sanders Foundation was established to fund educational opportunities for members of the overseas schools community that she found within our AAIE family. High school students graduating from an AAIE or Regional Association Member School within the various educational regions are eligible to apply. Only one candidate from each region will be put forward for the final selection process.

Congratulations to the 2018-19 Winners!

Martin Reyes

Colegio Bolivar/Colombia (AASSA)

Martin Reyes aspires to be a scientist and a thinker to optimize international education. During his senior year, he was the recipient of the AP International Diploma and AP Scholar with Distinction Award. He is part of his school’s National Honor Society, active in social service, and a member of the school council.


Fiker Negash

International Community School of Addis Ababa/Ethiopia (AISA)

Fiker Negash’s dream is to create a safe platform for aspiring writers like herself, within Ethiopia and beyond its borders. She is the President of ICSAA’s National Honors Society, an award-winning member of the Model United Nations, and leads the Laureate Journal. Fiker also created a program called “Sketch Away” which engages in art therapy with local impoverished youth. 


Zachary Lopez

International School Manila/Philippines (EARCOS)

Zachary Lopez, aspires to study computer science and plans to develop Artificial Intelligence (AI) to manage traffic signals or enhance rescue efforts during natural disasters. He is the Founder of ISM’s Coding Club, a three-time winner of the school’s Outstanding Robotics Student Award, and the Vice President of ISM’s Student Ambassadors. Zachary participates annually in the National Olympiad of Informatics, finishing in the top ten in the Philippines last year.


Pabasha Nanayakkara

The Overseas School of Colombo/Sri Lanka (NESA)

Pabasha Nanayakkara would like to devote her time equally to pursuing her interests in the field of Biology as well as Linguistics. Her goal is to educate others and help the less privileged. Pabasha is dedicated to the OSC’s service club, Girls for Girls, works with the Emerge Lanka Foundation and the Salvation Army. Academically, she received the ‘Top in Sri Lanka’ Award for her outstanding General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) scores.